Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join LANO!
2016 Eminent Faculty Awards
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
2016 Eminent Faculty Awards

Each year, the UL Lafayette Foundation, together with the University, honor our outstanding Faculty. The Eminent Faculty Awards is the highest level University program which commemorates esteemed Faculty for their research, teaching and service learning efforts.

When: 4/14/16
6 pm
Where: Le Pavillon in Parc Lafayette
1913 Kaliste Saloom Rd.
Lafayette, Louisiana  70508
United States
Contact: Claire Oliver

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Together with the University, the UL Lafayette Foundation honors five outstanding faculty members for their commitment to and effectiveness in research, teaching and service learning outreach. Recognizing faculty for their research, teaching effectiveness, and contributions to their profession and campus life, the first Distinguished Professor Award was established in 1965. In 1992, the Distinguished Professor Awards program was expanded to incorporate the Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award honoring faculty members for their dedication to profession and students. Instructional innovation, student performance in graduate or professional careers, and publications relating to pedagogy in their discipline are determining factors in the selection of these award recipients. Exceptional service learning outreach among faculty created a need for further program expansion and the Leadership in Service Award was added in 2016 to recognize faculty members showing commitment and effectiveness to service learning. Combining service and classroom instruction, notable faculty integrates service learning as a key component of higher education, providing students with skills and knowledge to become effective citizens and community leaders. Recipients of the Distinguished Professor and Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching awards must have a minimum of eight years with the University. The Leadership in Service Award requires a minimum service of three years. There are no restrictions on the faculty rank of the candidate; however, deans and department heads are ineligible. Each department and/or school devises their own method for selecting nominees, whose names are forwarded to the dean of the college. A letter of recommendation from the dean accompanies each applicant portfolio presented to the recipient selection committees. Faculty across a variety of disciplines serve on each committee who independently, then collectively, rank the candidates. Recipients are selected by their peers. Each award includes a $5,000 stipend presented to the recipients at the Eminent Faculty Awards banquet held in their honor. The name Distinguished Professor Awards was changed to Eminent Faculty Awards in 2015, encompassing the Distinguished Professor Award, Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award and recently added Leadership in Service Award UL faculty are now recognized for each of their primary roles as educators: research, teaching and service learning outreach.


To register, please visit:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal